Located 30 minutes South
West of Collingwood sits the picturesque village of Eugenia. In
1852, at the suggestion of some ex French soldiers who were helping
Charles Rankin survey the former township of Artemesia, the name of
Eugenia was chosen in honour of Empress Eugénie do Montijo, the wife
of Napoleon III.
In its early days,
Eugenia laid claim to several mills, general stores, a carriage factory, a
blacksmith, a shoemaker, as well as a few carpenters. Two churches served
area residents, along with one school. Currently, Eugenia is home to several
business’ such as general stores, restaurants, a church, public park, as well as
several other small business’ necessary to
area residents. Since its inception, the type of business’ have
changed, yet Eugenia has grown and prospered and is now known for the divine
Eugenia Falls, and recreational Lake Eugenia.
Discovered by a local Farmer in 1852, the 30
metre high Falls of Eugenia are the tallest in Ontario, next to Niagara Falls at
approximately 53 metres tall. The artificially made Lake Eugenia was created in
1915 when The Hydro Electric Power Commission of Ontario, moved the power plant
to the North and flooded the area, to give them more control over water levels.
Lake Eugenia is the only lake in Grey
Highlands that allows motorized watercraft, and is a well known location for
fishing derby’s and tournaments.
Eugenia was also the site of a fair sized
gold rush in 1852, but as the “gold” was found to actually be pyrite,
prospecting ceased and participants returned to work. Every July, Gold Rush
Days, takes place honouring the history of Eugenia with festivities and
Lake Eugenia is an excellent place for
year-round living, and also makes a wonderful vacation destination. Because of
the areas beautiful year-round scenery, relaxation abounds. So, come and explore
Lake Eugenia through this website, or make this your next vacation spot; either
way Lake Eugenia is the place to be!